The Sesnon House at Cabrillo College was originally built in 1911 by William Sesnon, the son-in-law of Benjamin and Kate Porter, who originally purchased the land where the house sits in 1858. The home was originally named the Pino Alto, and is a true Aptos Gem.
The home was sold after World War II to the Salesian Order, and it was used as a seminary and school for thirty odd years, until it was purchased by Cabrillo College, who then used it as a community center. The house was severely damaged in the 1989 Loma Prieta Earthquake, and was closed for several years. It was re-opened in 1996 after renovations paid for by Cabrillo College, the Aptos community, and Sesnon family members.
The house today is used for Cabrillo College events, but is also available for rental to private groups and local non-profit organizations, and is a popular and beautiful choice for weddings. The Cabrillo College Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management Program runs a restaurant there called the Pino Alto, matching the original name given to the home by the Sesnon Family.
See also: Sesnon House Virtual Tour